Press Release on the first meeting of Nepal-Belgium Bilateral Consultation Mechanism

Press Release

The first meeting of the Nepal-Belgium Bilateral Consultation Mechanism was held in Kathmandu today.

Foreign Secretary Mr. Shanker Das Bairagi and Director General for Bilateral Affairs of the Federal Public Service, Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation of the Kingdom of Belgium Ms. Anick Van Calster led their respective delegations to the meeting.

During the meeting, the two sides took stock of all aspects of bilateral relations and exchanged views on further promoting cooperation between the two countries. Views were also exchanged on the importance of exploring high level visits and engaging in global issues such as Climate Change, and on the role of the upcoming Sagarmatha Sambaad in this regard.

The two sides discussed the various ways of enhancing cooperation in the areas of trade, tourism and investment and, promoting people-to-people contacts. The regional and international issues of mutual interests were also discussed during the meeting.

The Belgian delegation consisted of H.E. Francois Delhaye, Non Residential Ambassador of Belgium to Nepal, Mr. Arnout Pauwels, Deputy Director Asia-Pacific Department of the Belgian Foreign Ministry, Mr. Alain Baetens, First Secretary at the Belgian Embassy in New Delhi, Mr. Roel Markey, Desk Officer Asia-Pacific of the Belgian Foreign Ministry as well as the Honorary Consul of Belgium in Kathmandu Mr. Ang Tsering Sherpa. The Nepali delegation included H.E. Mr. Lok Bahadur Thapa, Ambassador of Nepal to Belgium, Mr. Nirmal Raj Kafle, Joint Secretary and Head of Europe and America Division of Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Tek Bahadur Khatri, Under Secretary of Ministry of Finance and officials from Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

A Memorandum of Understanding establishing the Bilateral Consultation Mechanism was signed between Nepal and Belgium on 27 June 2018. The next meeting of the Mechanism will take place in Brussels at a mutually convenient date.

19 September 2019
Ministry of Foreign Affairs