Nepal Profile

Between India & Tibet Autonomous Region of the People’s Republic of China.

Area:  1, 47, 181 sq. km, stretching 800 km from east to west and from 90 to 230 km north to south.

Population: Approx. 26 million with absent population of 1.9 million and growth rate of 1.35% per annum

Latitude & Longitude: 26’12’ and 30’27’ North & 80′ 4′ and 88′ 12′ East

Capital city: Kathmandu — Population of about 800,000 in the city itself. Believed to be approximately 1.5m in the entire Kathmandu valley.

Peoples: There are 126 caste/ethnic groups reported in the census 2011. Chhetri is the largest caste/ethnic groups having 16.6% (4,398,053) of the total population followed by Brahman-Hill (12.2%; 3,226,903), Magar (7.1% ; 1,887,733), Tharu (6.6% ; 1,737,470), Tamang (5.8% ; 1,539,830), Newar (5% ; 1,321,933), Kami (4.8% ; 1,258,554), Musalman (4.4% ; 1,164,255), Yadav (4% ; 1,054,458) and Rai (2.3% ; 620,004).

Language(s):  There are 123 languages spoken as mother tongue reported in census 2011. Nepali is spoken as mother tongue by 44.6 percent (11,826,953) of the total population followed by Maithili (11.7% 3,092,530), Bhojpuri (5.98%; 1,584,958), Tharu (5.77%; 1,529,875), Tamang (5.11%; 1,353,311), Newar (3.2%; 846,557), Bajjika (2.99%; 793,418), Magar (2.98%; 788,530), Doteli (2.97%; 787,827), Urdu (2.61%; 691,546).

Religion(s): There are ten religious categories reported in the census 2011. Hindu is followed by 81.3 percent (21,551,492) of the population followed by Buddhism (9%; 2,396,099), Islam (4.4%; 1,162,370), Kirat (3.1%; 807,169), Christianity (1.4%; 375,699), Prakriti (0.5%; 121,982), Bon (13,006), Jainism (3,214), Bahai (1,283) and Sikhism (609).

Topography: From the World’s Deepest gorge ‘Kali-Gandaki’ to the highest point on earth, the Mt. Everest at 8848m.

Vegetation: Nepal possesses some of the most outstanding bio-diversity in the world, ranging from sub-tropical Rain-forests to Alpine Deserts.

Climate: Climate ranges from sub-tropical in the low lands to Arctic higher altitudes.

Winter (December – February)
Summer (March – May )
Monsoon (June – August)
Autumn (September – November)

National Bird & National Flower:
Impean Pheasant (Danfe) & Rhododendron Arboreum (Lali Gurans)

National Festivals:
Dashain, Tihar, Shivaratri, Nepali new year (Baishak first), Teej, Chad etc.

World Heriatge Sites:
In Nepal, there are two UNESCO world heritage site respectively cultural world heritage site and another is natural world heritage. UNESCO cultural world heritage site have eight site respectively Kathmandu Durbar Square, Patan Durbar Square, Bhaktapur Durbar Square, Swayambhunath, Boudhanath, Pashupatinath, Changunarayan and Lumbini. Seven Cultural World Heritage Sites are situated within 20 kms of radius, in the Kathmandu Valley except Lumbini. Another UNESCO natural world heritage site including two site respectively Sagarmatha National Park (Mt. Everest National Park) and Chitwan National Park.

Flora and Fauna:
840 different species of wet-land, migratory and residential bird, 8% of the world’s population of birds.

Home to Endangered Species Like:
Royal Bengal Tiger, One horned rhino, Snow – Leopard, Red Panda, Brown Bear, Assamese Macaque, Gangetic Dolphin, Wolf, Wild Elephant, Giant Horn – Bill, Swamp Deer, Wild Yak, Tibetan Antelope, Black Buck, Four Horned antelope, Musk Deer, Pigmy Hog, Haspid Hare, Pangolin, Gharial, Indian Bustart, Saras Crane, Impean Pheasant, Python etc.

A Living Cultural Heritage:
Nepal’s Heritage is alive and dynamic. Shamanism, Pan-animism & Witch-craft are still practiced in remote regions. Temples, shrines, monuments and monasteries are extremely active with devotees burning butter-lamps, singing hymns, chiming temple bells and playing drums. The only country that has living goddess “Kumari”

Currency: Nepalese Rupee (NPR).

Political-System: Federal Democratic Republic.

Government: Constitutionally, Nepal is a parliamentary democracy with a largely ceremonial President as Head of State and a Prime Minister as Head of Government. The Prime Minister currently leads a coalition government. The current Legislative Parliament has 601 members.

Head of State: Rt. Hon. President Ms. Bidya Devi Bhandari (elected on Oct 29, 2015)

Head of Government:  Rt. Hon. Prime Minister Mr. Sher Bahadur Deuba (elected on June 7, 2017)

Membership International Organisations/Groups: United Nations, Non-Aligned Movement, South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation (SAARC), Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC).